Skip to content
September 12, 2012 / blparham

Nature Photography! It’s all fun and games until someone gets hurt…namely me!

Today I am writing to you from my bed, and I’ll explain why in a bit.

Anyhow, I have always had a passion for photography. Anyone who really knows me knows that I don’t like to miss an opportunity to take a great shot. My passion increased even more after I purchased my first Nikkon DSLR camera a couple of years back. Since I am coming near the end of my studies as a Web Designer, I had the opportunity to select just one free elective. Hmm…tough choice for a “creative type” to make. There were so many interesting choices ranging from theater make-up application, pottery to jewelry making; any one of which I’d find fun and exciting.

But I had to ask myself, which one would give me the most benefit in my future endeavors as a Web Designer? It’s a fact; good Web sites contain high quality photographs. Up until this point, I relied mainly on the automatic settings on my camera to help me. It was time to really understand apertures and shutter speeds and how they work together to create the perfect exposure. Thus, I signed myself up for an “Introduction to Digital Photography” class and associated lab. Woo Hoo! I was finally going to learn the basics behind what I have been doing for years!

Well, we were given an assignment in class yesterday to take a total of 20 consecutive shots, no deleting, and no second chances, with only 2 requirements. 1. The photos needed to capture the essence of light; being taken between sunrise and 9:00 am or 5:30 pm to sunset. 2. We needed to capture various depths of field. This brings me to why I am writing this post from bed today.

I was excited to get started “hunting” for my perfect shots. After all, you can’t wait until the last day before the assignment is due and hope for Mother Nature to bring you the perfect light. So, come 5:30 pm, I slip on my hiking boots, grab my camera and tripod and my boyfriend and I jump in the car to head up to Clark’s Creek located in Dauphin, PA. I have taken beautiful photos there in the past and I felt that there was a possibility I would find the lighting I was in search of. Almost immediately, in the distance, I see what I am looking for. A concrete bridge with sunlight shining through shimmering of the flow of the trickling creek. To get there, I had to trample through brush, climb over a log, jump over a ditch (that I kept calling a ravine in the ER) and down a small bank to the side of the stream. No problem… When I arrived at the spot everything was perfect. The light was just right. I took a few practice shots and then changed my SD card with a new one for the project. Naturally, things couldn’t go perfectly. When I popped in the new card, my camera wouldn’t recognize it for some darn reason. As I messed with it, just that fast the light changed and my opportunity was over. Apparently I was there longer than it felt. I heard my boyfriend call from the road to see if I was OK. Yes, sure I was OK, what the heck would you think could happen out there?

I started to head back to the car in disappointment. When I got to the “ravine”, it looked totally different than it had from the other side. The bank on the other side was somewhat lower and now I had to make it back across. I took one second to contemplate my next move and then took the leap. YEE…OUCH!!! I landed on my left foot with such force and my knee locked. It felt as if my bones from my ankle to my hip were jammed straight up into my body. I heard and felt a simultaneous grinding jerk. As I said before, YEE…OUCH!!! Just moments before, my boyfriend asked me if I was OK, which I was, and then seconds later, I wasn’t.

To make and even longer story shorter, I ended up spending the rest of the evening (until 11:00 pm) in the Emergency Room waiting for X-rays. As far as they could see, there was nothing broken, thank GOD!

Quite ironically, my photo shoot out in nature last evening is keeping me from attending my Environmental Science class today!

Here is one shot I took. I realize now, after all my pain, it wasn’t such a great shot after all. Ah…the trials and tribulations of a photographer!

A photo of Clarks Creek flowing beneath a bridge

Clark’s Creek, Dauphin, PA

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. amy / Oct 20 2012 2:58 pm

    now I know who to come to when I start my blog (very soon), and maybe need a photographer too….

    • blparham / Oct 20 2012 7:31 pm

      Awe Amy, you are so sweet. I am just learning myself. Started this as an assignment for my Web 2.0 Emerging Technologies class this semester, and found out I kinda like it! :)! I’d help you out anytime, just ask.

  2. Suganthi / Oct 20 2012 9:54 am

    Well I am glad you are ok now.
    by the end of the semester you will be a great photographer

    • blparham / Oct 20 2012 10:02 am

      Why thank you Suganthi. Either that, or I will be an invalid. lol!

  3. Bertha / Sep 13 2012 8:17 pm

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    • blparham / Sep 14 2012 10:59 am

      Sure! :)! I am using WordPress and the template design is called Vostok. I modified it by changing my colors, adding my own image, and added additional features using some of the available widgets. This is my very first blog, so I am not familiar with any of the other platforms you mentioned.

  4. Web design lehigh valley / Sep 12 2012 8:38 pm

    Yes! Finally someone writes about web design.

    • blparham / Sep 14 2012 11:07 am

      Thank you! My goal is to share some of the highlights of my experiences as a student of Web Design.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge “Reflections” « Web Design through one Student's Eyes
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: “BIG” « Web Design through one Student's Eyes

Your thoughts?

